Netti Pot Love

I am a sufferer of chronic sinus infections. My last primary care physician would prescribe antibiotics and send me on my way. Meaning that for nearly 6 months straight, I was taking a pack of antibiotics. The result? A weakend immune system and yeast overgrowth as a result of the antibiotics. I wish I had known then what I know now. 

Don’t get me wrong; antibiotics are great… to an extent. But in my case, they were overused. Thanks, Doc!
I’m now seeing a physician I have to travel an hour each way for. She’s amazing. She focuses on treating problems instead of masking them. I went to her with a sinus infection last week and she told me to take Mucinex D, use a netti pot sinus wash regularly (1-2 times a day), and also suggested a steroid shot. I passed on the shot, not only because I hate needles, but also because steroids hinder hormonal balance, and well.. Ain’t nobody got time for that! 

Some people, like my husband, are weary of the netti pot. For me, it relieves so much pain and pressure! Almost immediately after completing a nasal wash, the pressure in my face and forehead dissipates, headache lessens in severity, and nasal passages open up. It’s heavenly!

I have also doubled up on my ImmunoCaps (bovine colostrum immune booster). I typically take two daily – once in the AM and once in the PM, so now I’m taking two at each interval.
What tips and tricks help you take care of yourself without taking antibiotics when you’re sick?

Leave a comment